Posted on: June 9, 2020 Posted by: India Hires Comments: 0
List of commissions & Committees in India

Indian Commissions-General Information Queries and Answers revised June 2020

There are several committees and commissions in different fields that are created in India. A lot of reforms have taken place in our country on the basis of these committees and commissions’ recommendations. On the basis of these committees and commissions, it is found that several questions are asked in the exams. But students need to go back to them.

List of commissions & Committees in India:
  1. Palekar Tribunal – on Journalists’ Pay reforms
  2. U.C. Banerjee Commission – on Enquiry into Godhra carnage (railways)
  3. Sarkaria Commission – on Centre-State relations
  4. Srikrishna Commission- on 1992 Bombay riots
  5. Thakkar Commission – on Indira Gandhi assassination case
  6. Phukan Commission & Saharya Committee – on Tehelka tapes
  7. Malimath Commission – on Criminal Justice
  8. Upendra Commission – on Inquiry on rape and murder Thangjam Manorama Devi
  9. Malhotra Committee – on Insurance Reforms
  10. Janaki Ram Committee – on Security scam
  11. Janaki Ram Committee – Security scam
  12. Ajay Vikram Singh Committee – Faster promotions in army
  13. Rajinder Sachar Committee {1} – Companies and MRPT Act
  14. Rajindar Sachar Committee {2} – Report on the social, economic and educational status of the Muslims of India
  15. Jyoti Basu Committee – Report on Octroi abolition
  16. Balwant Rai Mehta Committee – Recommendations on decentralization system
  17. Sawant Committee – Enquiry on corruption, charges against ministers & Anna Hazare
  18. Chelliah Committee – Eradicating black money
  19. Kothari Commission – Educational reforms
  20. Wanchoo Committee – Tax enquiry
  21. Bhanu Pratap Singh Committee – Agriculture
  22. Aggarwal Committee – Nepotism in granting petrol pump, LPG connections
  23. Rangarajan Committee – Reforms in private sector
  24. Naresh Chandra Committee – Corporate governance
  25. Chakravarti Committee – Banking sector reforms
  26. Rekhi Committee – Structure of indirect taxation
  27. G.V.Ramakrishna Committee – Disinvestment in PSU shares
  28. Kelkar Committee – First committee on backward castes
  29. P.C.Hotha Committee – Restructuring of civil services
  30. Justice B.N.Kirpal Committee – 1st chairman National Forest Commission
  31. Godbole Committee – Enron Power Project
  32. J.C.Kumarappa Committee – Congress agrarian Reforms Committee
  33. Swaminathan Committee – Population policy
  34. Rangarajan Committee – Statistics
  35. Wardha Committee – Inquiry on murder of Graham Staines
  36. N.N. Vohra Committee – Criminalization of politics
  37. Kelkar Committee {2} – Direct-Indirect Taxes
  38. Alagh Committee – Civil Service Examinations
  39. Abid Hussain Committee – Recommendations on Small scale industries
  40. Narasimham Committee – Banking sector reforms
  41. Chelliah Committee- Tax reforms
  42. Mashelkar Committee – National Auto Fuel Policy
  43. Boothalingam Committee – Recommendations on integrated wages, income and price policy
  44. Omkar Goswami Committee – Industrial sickness
  45. Yashpal Committee – Review of School Education system
  46. Ram Nandan Prasad Committee – Constitution of creamy layers among Backward Castes
  47. Kelkar Committee{3} – Enquiry on Kargil defense deals.
  48. M.M. Punchhi Commission – Centre-State Relations [note- this committee has been set up recently- after the sad demise of Justice (Retd.) Sarkaria]
  49. Thorat Committee – Caste-based discrimination against students in AIIMS
  50. R.K.Raghavan Committee – Ragging in colleges
  51. James Lyngdoh Committee- Student politics and student-body elections in colleges.
  52. E.M.S. Nachiappan Committee – Reforms in the higher judiciary
  53. Soli Sorabjee Committee – Police Reforms [it was constituted after the Judgement of the Supreme Court in Parkash Singh vs Union of India (2006)]
  54. Ganguli Committee – Review of health facility planning and healthcare engineering and management
  55. Percy Mistry Committee – Making Mumbai an IFC (International Financial Centre)
  56. K.T. Thomas Committee – to look into ways of enhancing the effectives of the Prevention of Damage to Public Property Act
  57. Fali S. Nariman Committee – Accountability and damages with regard to destruction of public property
  58. Satwant Reddy Committee – review of laws relating to registration of pharmaceutical drugs and clinical trials
  59. Raghuram C. Rajan Committee – financial sector reforms
  60. Shah Commission (1966) – reorganisation of States
  61. arkunde Committee – composition of the Election Commission and other electoral reforms
  62. Dinesh Goswami Committee – electoral reforms
  63. G.V.K. Rao Committee (1985) – set up by the planning commission in 1985, to look into the Administrative Arrangement for Rural Development and poverty Alleviation Programmes.
  64. Butler Committee – Relation between Indian states & paramount power (the Queen of Britain)
  65. Hurtog Committee – Growth of British India education-its effects
  66. Muddiman Committee – Working of Diarchy as in Montague Chelmsford reforms

Leave a Comment